16 Years Ago Today, My High School Wrestling Career Ended

I noticed NJ Regions start tonight. That means its the anniversary date of me folding like a paper plane and washing out Region 3 in spectacular fashion. I lateral dropped myself and got pinned in the 1st period by a guy I had beaten three times in my career (and lost to zero times). I had tech-falled the guy who won the region a few weeks earlier.

What I am implying is that I am a choke artist of the highest caliber.

Good thing high school sports are totally meaningless (as a type beneath the glint of my All Conference plaques). If only I had known then how little I should have cared.

Best of luck high school wrestlers of NJ! You’ve the foundation of many a wistful early-middle-age memory to build this weekend!

Leave a Reply

